No fewer than ten senators of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) have been mulling defection to Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) amid move to impeach President Muhammadu Buhari.

Recall, senators , especially those in the opposition parties, on Wednesday, July 27, 2022, threatened to impeach the President Muhammadu Buhari over the worsening insecurity in the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, and the country at large.

Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe of All Progressive Grand Alliance, (APGA), representing  Abia-South was the mover of the motion for issues on Buhari’s impeachment to be discussed.

The president was issued a six-week ultimatum to address the security crisis or face impeachment proceedings.

The motion was seconded by Senator Adamu Bulkachuwa, (APC -Bauchi North) as several lawmakers were miffed at the poor state of security with increasing wave of terrorists’ attacks across the country and recent spate of attacks in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital.

A legislative aide privy to details of the session disclosed; “There was no opposition during the executive session, according to what the senator told me. It was agreed the issue will be tabled for discussion during plenary under Point of Order (PoO).”

“They were all surprised when the Senate Minority Leader, Senator Phillip Aduda, (PDP-Abuja), raised the issue and it was shut down by the Lawan.”


“They are feeling someone in that closed-door session tipped off the president and his team, who immediately got in touch with Lawan to shoot it down,” he said.

This angered the legislators as all PDP senators staged a walk-out accompanied by some APC senators.

However, in the latest development, some APC senators have joined the agitation for the president’s impeachment and are planning to defect to the PDP.



Below are the Names of the Senators set to join the PDP:  Senator Adamu Bulkachuwa, (APC -Bauchi North); Senator Ladi Dadu’ut, (APC – Plateau South); Senator Bello Mandiya, (APC – Katsina South); Senator Ibrahim Oloriegbe, (APC – Kwara Central); Senator Danladi Sankara, (APC – Jigawa West)

Others include; Senator Sabi Aliyu Abdullahi, (APC – Niger North); Smart Adeyemi, (APC – Kogi West); Senator Yakubu Oseni, (APC – Kogi Central); Bauchi Central Isah Hamma Misau; and Halliru Dauda, (APC – Bauchi Central)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *